Baking Industry Forum (BIF)

What is BIF?

BIF is a small group of bakers and suppliers who come together to discuss topics and issues facing the commercial baking industry.  The group provides the industry with a strong resource for ideas and expertise based on research and years of experience.  Issues they have tackled in the past include preparations for FSMA, the importance of training, how to hire veterans, safety and more.

BIF - Baking Industry Forum
2018 – 2019 BIF Members

Suppliers

Scott Bieker
Vice President – Bakery Sales
Corbion

scott.bieker@corbion.com

Sergio Caballero
Regional Sales Manager
Benchmark Automation

sergio.caballero@promachbuilt.com

Jordan Hale, SPFJordan Hale
President
SPF

jordanhale@spf-mail.com

Delia Justable - Forbo Siegling, LLCDelia Justable
Global Sanitary Compliance Manager
Forbo Siegling, LLC

delia.justable@forbo.com

Mike LaValle, IntraloxMike LaValle
Corporate Account Manager
Intralox, Inc.

michael.lavalle@intralox.com

Nick Magistrelli - RademakerNick Magistrelli
Vice President of Sales
Rademaker USA, Inc.

nmagistrelli@rademakerusa.com

Craig SouserCraig Souser
President & CEO
JLS Automation

csouser@jlsautomation.com

Audrey St. Onge, SK Foods

Audrey St. Onge
President & CEO
Lallemand

astonge@lallemand.com

Bakers

Nelson BoydNelson Boyd
Production Manager
Bimbo Bakeries USA

nboyd@bbumail.com

Brandon Heiser
COO
Roskam Baking

heiserb@roskams.com

John Mulloy, Jr. - Ginsburg BakeryJohn Mulloy, Jr.
Vice President of Operations
151 Foods

johnmulloy@151foods.com

joe-owad-pepperJoe Owad
Director of Plant Engineering
Pepperidge Farm

Joe_owad@pepperidgefarm.com

Mario SomozaMario Somoza
President & CEO
Pan Pepin, Inc.

mario.somoza@panpepin.com

R.T. Tepsic, Lineage Logistics

R.T. Tepsic
General Manager
Lineage Logistics

rtepsic@lineagelogistics.com

Karl Thorson, General Mills

Karl Thorson
Food Safety & Sanitation Manager
General Mills

karl.thorson@genmills.com

Jeremiah Tilghman, Canyon Bakehouse

Jeremiah Tilghman
Vice President of Operations
Canyon Bakehouse

jtilghman@canyonbakehouse.com

Richard Ybarra

Richard Ybarra
Manager of Manufacturing Maintenance Engineering
Publix Super Markets

richard.ybarra@publix.com

FEATURED ARTICLES

  • So you plan on implementing lean manufacturing at your plant, and you wonder what impact it will have on your culture. It will have a huge impact. If it doesn’t, you did not successfully roll out lean....

  • Today, between standards, regulations, allergens and everything made out of completely different materials, the boil tanks have outlived their useful lives. Pan trucks are for pans, ingredient carts are for ingredients. Rightfully so, but now what?...

  • The Baking Industry Forum, a special group aligned to the Bakery Equipment Manufacturers and Allieds organization (BEMA), is in place to tackle the issues of the baking industry in a collaborative forum where members from the OEM community, together with bakery manufacturing professionals, tackle key issues challenging the industry. The topic for this article, changeover efficiency, offers views from both an OEM and a baker....

  • BEMA has announced the addition of seven new members to BIF, the Baking Industry Forum, expanding this team to 18 members. The expanded BIF team met in New Orleans, prior to the BEMA fall board of directors meeting, in a half-day working session to plan their projects for the current term....

  • The topic for this article, conveyor efficiency, offers unique viewpoints from both an OEM and a baker. With modern day bakeries having hundreds to thousands of feet of conveyor, this is certainly a moving subject....